Mr. Miftaudeen Thani has emerged the new Amir (President), Muslim Students’ Society of Nigeria, MSSN, Lagos State Area Unit.

Thani, a PhD candidate (Political Science) at the Lagos State University, LASU, succeeds Dr Saheed Ashafa, who has been at the helm of the students body’s affairs for the past five years.

The announcement of Thani was made today alongside new executive members after the virtual conference of the society.

The former Amir, Saheed Ashafa (Ph.D), appealed to members of the society and the general public to support the new executives.

Dr Saheed Ashafa, former Amir MSSNLagos,

He explained that the theme of the conference, ‘Building a sustainable future’, was chosen to address the current global pandemic.

Ashafa said, “On the 11th October, 2015 to be precise, the Amir-ship weight was placed on my shoulders. The journey began on a note of fear and hope and just when I thought I was about to heave a sigh of relief, I was re-elected and this time around to steer the paddle of leadership for another three years.

“The journey, no doubt, was taxing. There were moments of turbulence just as there were moments when the coast appeared serene. There were moments when trifles sought to tear us apart as a team but Alhamdulillah, it all ended in gratitude.

“I urge the incoming executives to tap into the numerous opportunities unraveled by the pandemic.

“The theme ‘Building A Sustainable Future’ has been chosen, as the ‘New Normal’ stares everybody in the face. Nobody knows where the tide is taking the world but one thing is certain, it is going to be the survival of the smartest, though, as Allah wills.

“The future may appear gloomy due to a sudden change brought by the pandemic. It can however either spell doom or turn boom.”

Other members of the new executive include: Naibul Amir, Mukhtar Oyetunji; Secretary, AbdulFatah Hamzah; Assistant Secretary, Taofeek Ogundele; Financial Secretary, AbdulAzeez Abdul Raheem; Business Chairman, Qazeem Musa; Public Relations Officer, Mu’Sodiq Adekunle; Welfare, Kamaldeen Abiona; Director of Studies, Qazeem Akinlotan; Assistant Director of Studies, Qazeem Yahya; and Internal Auditor, AbdulKabir Kuye.

L-R: Amira, Basheerah Majekodunmi and Asmau Yahya, Secretary Sister Circle

Others are: Amirah, Basheerah Majekodunmi; Naibatul Ameerah, Azeezah Gidigbi; Secretary Asmau Yahya; Sisters’ PRO, Sekinah Adeyinka; Welfare, Muhibah Adeoye; and treasurer Ma’rufah Adeshokan.

Previous article(PHOTOS) Aboru Road: The shame of a mega city
Next articleStudents’ group wants FG, ASUU to resolve IPPIS controversy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here